The trees and the forest

... the trees ...

… the trees …

Sociology for junior colleges teaches that every person has many positions, both appointed and acquired.
Appointed positions are congenital, such as gender, age and skin color. Acquired positions are created by ourselves with marriage, childbirth, religious ideas, education, and various other, each in style with himself and the culture in which he live.
Sociology also says that the position of the individual tells who he is and where he is. This statement is very interesting, how can our position tell us who we are?

The same applies to the positions and the trees, we talk often about the trees in the forest, of trees as one and the forest as something else. But it is nevertheless a fact that the trees are the forest and the forest the trees, and neither can be without the other. We know this well, though our words indicate otherwise.

As the trees and the forest are one, there is one position common denominator of all the other positions, we rarely think about it and often forget to take it into account, but it is still there, we call it normally the ‘me’. It is I, the me, which is a woman or a man, a teenager or old, a parent, married, intellectual or an expert. The ‘me’ that is something.
The ‘me’ is any position that we can think of and it makes no difference whether it is appointed or acquired. Without the ‘me’ there is no position.

It still says not who we are, only what our position is. Who are we? What is the ‘me’ behind all the positions?
If we say that the trees are the forest and the forest collection of all the trees, we can likewise say the positions are the ‘me’ and the ‘me’ collection of all positions. We should begin to define more precisely, what position is.

Mother’s status is the result of experience to have given birth or adopted a child. The expert status is the result of having read and learned some profession. Thus we can in fact define all positions.
The position ‘me’ is the result of experiences and learning, all that we have tried through various events, read and learned and stored in the memory of the brain. The ‘me’ is an old memory. Nothing else.

That leaves the question whether the ‘me’ is we and at the same time we the ‘me’, if so then we have by reviewing our position, found the answer to who we are and where we are.
Who am I? An old memory. Where am I? In my brain.

It is quite clear that the ‘me’ is an old memory, built up from our experiences and memorized-learning, which is all the knowledge that exists in our brain’s memory.
It therefore goes without saying, that our reality is not this me. We are something more than an old memory. Something has to shape or create the ‘me’ out of our experiences and memorized-learning, and locate in the brain’s memory. The question is therefore, who is the human being behind the image, the status?

We have accepted the appointed positions, we have been given, maintained them and attributed to us, and at the same time earned us countless other positions without thinking. Without questions.

All positions have their existence in the ‘me’. The positions are the ‘me’ and the ‘me’ the positions. It is obvious that in order to approach the human being behind the image we need to remove the image.
We do it by peeling off of us all that we have attributed to us on our walk through life. Everything. Both inherent and acquired, both in theory and practice. Completely.

When everything is gone, there is no thing. Nothing. It is our essence. The reality of ourselves. Nothing else.

Leave a Reply

