I think therefore I am – René Descartes

Steinn SteinarThe words of Descartes, I think, therefore I am grabbed my attention when I heard them first, probably because of the two words I and think.
These two words have their existence in each other, for the me to be there has to be thinking.  I am a thought.

If we look at our history, from birth and to this day, we can see that the me is really a thought, made up by the brain, from memories rooted in the experiences we have gained through various events.  Along with the knowledge we have gathered from books. Nothing more.

We can claim to be able to stop thinking but still exist.  But it changes nothing about the existence of the me as thought.  It is clear when thought disappears then goes the me although the human being certainly still exists.
It can therefore be said that not thinking is more desirable than thinking.

If we do not think we do not create any me.  Without the me there is no mine or yours, which means that no dispute exists.

That is worth thinking about.  Is it not?

Leave a Reply

