Nothing is nothing

IMG_5039My friend was feeling strange, not necessarily bad, rather uncomfortable, frightened, like a bad omen, like something was about to happen, something she did not want to happen.

I asked her to try something for me, to sit down in a good chair or lie down on her bed, next time this feeling came over her, and face this fear, invite it to come and take over her body and life.  Just do it. Face it.

Few days later I called her and asked how it went.  She did not want to talk about it, had been busy and made all kinds of excuses as we all do when we do not want to talk about something.

“I know you tried” I said “and I know what happened, you just do not know it yourself, please describe to me what happened” I asked.

She told me how she had tried but nothing had happened.

I asked her to tell me this again, slowly.

“Nothing happened” she repeated and I could feel that while she was talking then she realized what had happened. “Nothing happened because there is nothing to fear” she said. “That is how it is.”  And she was a little surprised.

And that is exactly how it is, if there is nothing then nothing will happen.  It is not more complicated than that.

So if you are living in fear, you dare not face, do as my friend did, invite the fear to take over your life.  Just do it.  Face it.

It is clear if the fear is real something will happen and you will deal with it, but if it is nothing then nothing will happen.  It is as simple as that.

Leave a Reply

